Research Award for Mr Alastair Lucas AM

Angus Morgan

06 November, 2014

Former Burnet Institute Chair, Mr Alastair Lucas AM, has been honoured with a 2014 Research Australia Award.

The awards celebrate the influence of 10 leaders who have made invaluable contributions to Australia’s health and medical research through groundbreaking research and discovery, ongoing advocacy or philanthropy.

Mr Lucas received the Leadership and Innovation Award.

Other award winners included the Founding Director of Ovarian Cancer Australia, Karen Livingstone, philanthropists, Len and Margaret Ainsworth, and global health and disease expert, Professor Alan Lopez, who received the Peter Wills Medal.

Research Australia CEO and Managing Director, Elizabeth Foley, said the award winners were worthy of the recognition.

“We received an impressive number of nominations for this year’s Awards and continue to be so inspired by those put forward,” said Ms Foley.

“A robust health and medical research industry is crucial to ensuring Australia continues to lead the world in terms of innovation and improved patient care.”

Mr Lucas, who’s taking extended leave as Burnet Chair, was recently appointed by the Federal Government to a panel charged with reviewing the viability and efficiency of Australia’s independent Medical Research Institutes.

Contact Details

For more information in relation to this news article, please contact:

Angus Morgan

Manager Media and Multimedia




Subscribe to News

Subscribe to receive our latest news: