Inaugural Crockett-Murphy Travel Award

Burnet Institute

03 July, 2014

Two Burnet staff members from our Papua New Guinea and Myanmar programs have been awarded the inaugural Crockett-Murphy Travel Award.

Mr Hadlee Supsup, based in PNG, and Dr Zaw Min Oo from Myanmar, will have the opportunity to enhance their knowledge by attending an overseas conference or event in their area of expertise.

The prestigious award was created in honour of former staff members Dr Sue Crockett and Ms Clare Murphy.

With an annual grant of up to AUD$5,000 the award provides support for national staff in Burnet’s offices to present research, evaluate findings and progress their careers.

Mr Supsup is a trained nurse and works as a field monitor in PNG. Mr Supsup has worked for Burnet for more than five years as a Community Engagement Officer on the East New Britain Sexual Health Improvement Program funded by DFAT-Australian Aid and the Home-based Management of Malaria Program funded by The Global Fund’s Round 8 initiative.

Burnet Director and CEO Professor Brendan Crabb said Mr Supsup’s strength in the team is his ability to explain and facilitate understanding of national and provincial health systems for local communities and community-based supervisors.

Dr Min Oo, who is a medically-trained doctor, has worked at Burnet for the past three years as a Project Manager in Myanmar for the GFATM-funded project ‘Working with men to address HIV’. He recently was promoted to Program Manager (HIV).

Professor Crabb said Dr Min Oo has demonstrated his ability in leading overall project management.

“Dr Min Oo has been involved in negotiating with donors, coordination with local partner organisations, professional communication with government departments, modification of project design, and supervising, implementing and monitoring programs,” Professor Crabb said.

Contact Details

For more information in relation to this news article, please contact:

Professor Brendan Crabb AC

Director and CEO; Co-Head Malaria Research Laboratory; Chair, Victorian Chapter of the Association of Australian Medical Research Institutes (AAMRI)




Subscribe to News

Subscribe to receive our latest news: